A Look Ahead

When I started this blog back in August, the purpose was to take the ideas that have been gathering in my head and put them into text so that they could be shared, commented on and further developed. Now that we are approaching the end of the year it seems a good time to look ahead to what is next.

In January I look to finish my posts under the title “Monsters Under My Skin.” Each post is built, one upon the other, as a way to look at and understand the seven deadly sins and how they affect our lives. I have endeavored to handle each topic the same, one post to identify the sin, one post to take a look at what the Bible had to say on the topic and one post to talk about overcoming that sin. So far we have dealt with Lust, Greed, Gluttony, Laziness, Anger and Envy. Our last three posts will deal with Pride. My hope is that one day these thoughts can be the beginning of a book. I also plan to preach this as a sermon series to our teenagers starting in mid-January.

As we move forward in 2014, I have several other ideas that I look forward to developing on this blog. I am so glad that each of you has chosen to stop by and read the thoughts in my head.

If I had one disappointment in this blog to date it would be the lack of comments that people leave. I am not sure if the blog itself does not invite conversation or if most of the readers are content to read without interaction. I do enjoy seeing that readers have stumbled upon the pages of these writings but I must confess that a well-placed comment can make my day. Also, one of the reasons that I am writing is to challenge my own thoughts so that they can become complete ideas, sometimes that process needs the interactions of others in debate or deliberation. All are invited to share in the journey.

As we enter 2014 this week, I am excited about what lies ahead. We do not get to know what tomorrow holds, that is why we hold to the one that holds tomorrow. God is faithful to the journey as well as the end. I must say, I am enjoying this journey, so far . . .